A genius could be referred to as
an exceptional child who is
academically sound. But, how
would you describe an
individual who never misses a
point in his examinations from
first year in the university to the
final year? If there is any
adjective to qualify such a
person, that word could best
describe Tunji Olu-Taiwo, an
Engineering student of Eastern
Mediterranean University in the
Turkish Republic of North Cyprus
who obtained 4.0 CGPA out of
4.0 CGPA, the first ever in the
department.
Encomiums have continued to be
showered on Tunji Olu-Taiwo
from various quarters, because
his impressive performance has
placed him in the spotlight.
Over the years, Nigeria’s human
resources have ranked among
the best in the world partly due
to the profound efforts of
critical-minded parents that
stimulate the astuteness that
hides within every student,
begging for whom to push the
trigger.
Tunji Olu-Taiwo, who hails from
Ifako-Ijaye Local Government
Area of Lagos State, emerged the
best graduating student from
the Faculty of Engineering,
obtaining a status of High
Honours (first class).
Tunji is the first African to have
bagged such a status in the
Department of Engineering,
obtaining a degree in
Engineering on a Grade Point
Average of 4.00 out of 4.00
(straight A’s).
Amid great honour and eulogy
sang by the students and
academic, expressing marvel at
the development, Vanguard met
with Tunji in an online chat to
speak more on his success.
Mark Elliot Zuckerberg as Role
Model
“I am looking up to Mark
Zuckerberg, he is a genius I love
to emulate,” Tunji said. Mark Elliot
Zuckerberg (born May 14, 1984)
is an American computer
programmer and Internet
entrepreneur. He is best known
as one of the five co-founders of
the social networking site,
Facebook. Zuckerberg is the
chairman and chief executive of
Facebook. Inc.
Further Study
“I plan to further by specializing
in the field of software
engineering. “Software
Engineering is a course I have
cherished right from time. I
know I owe the society more
with this, that is the reason that I
wish to go further in that regard
for this dream to be fulfilled.”
Hopes and challenges in Nigeria
Tunji expressed hope in Nigeria
when he said; “there is no place
like home,” adding; “I like the
fact that no matter the difficult
situations Nigerians find
themselves in, they still try to be
happy.”
Advice for the Government
Poverty, I believe is the greatest
distraction, frustrating process
of seeking admission into
universities and lack of steady
electricity are some dire
challenges the people, especially
students, usually grapple with, in
his honest opinion. Tunji advised
the government thus:
“Admissions should be done on
a per semester basis. I will advise
that the Federal Government
should try to provide constant
electricity. This, to me, will
automatically eradicate about 50
per cent of Nigeria’s problems.
Also, a simple advice for all
students is that the road to
success is not on a straight path.
Patience is a very important
virtue that should be put to good
use.”
His Background
“My father, Dr. Mike Olufemi
Taiwo is a dental surgeon and a
retired army officer. He is from
Lagos State. My mother, Mrs.
Ajoke Lillian Olu-Taiwo is a
business consultant. She hails
from Kogi State.
My parents modelled my life the
way it is today. They took time
to instil discipline in me. I was
born and raised in the great city
of Kano. I grew up in a large
Catholic family, with three
brothers and four sisters. I
started reading at a very young
age. My parents made sure I did
my assignments and that zeal
still remains in me up to this
moment.”
Tunji’s father who spoke with
Vanguard about Tunji’s up-
bringing said; “I brought up all
my children in Kano. I noticed
that many parents allow their
children freedom to wander
about after school which I
detested so I made it mandatory
for my children to remain home-
bound. I was part of their lives. I
made sure their home works
were done and their books
studied on daily basis. I was
their mentor and at the same
time, their friend.
“Nevertheless, because all work
without play makes Jack a dull
boy, so I provided indoor games
for my children. When they were
big enough to play table tennis, I
played the game with them. It
was fun.
“I also taught them chess and
was always beating them, but
when Tunji came from Cyprus,
he started beating me hands
down and I began to marvel. I
was not too surprised about the
result he made,” said Dr Olu
Taiwo.

